•    relishtoursbhutan@gmail.com
  •    (+975)-02-321455 / 17744214

    Bumthang Districts

    Bumthang Valley is the spiritual heartland of Bhutan. The valleys of Trongsa and Bumthang are separated by Yutola Pass (Alt 11,500ft). Bumthang has an individuality that separates it from all other regions. Composed of four smaller valleys, Chumey, Choekor,Tang ,Ura . The spiritual region of Bumthang is shrouded in religious legend. Bumthang is also famous for Yathra which is a unique material woven from coarse sheep wool, intricately designed and colored to form breathtaking patterns. Bumthang Tsechu (festival) along with the Paro and Thimphu Tsechu are the most popular festivals in Bhutan. The town of Jakar is the largest between Thimphu in the west and Trashigang in the east. Jakar is famous for its honey, cheese, apples and apricots.

    *Jambey Lhakhang:* This monastery was built in the 7th century by the Tibetan King, Songtsen Gampo, the one who built Kyichu Lhakhang in Paro. It is one of 108 monasteries, which he built to subdue evil spirits in the Himalayan region. Its present architectural appearance to Kyichu Lhakhang in Paro.

    *Jakar Dzong:* Constructed in 1549 by the great grandfather of the first Shabdrung, the Dzong was initially built as a monastery. It was upgraded in 1646, after the Shabdrung had firmly established his power in Bhutan. Jakar Dzong is now used as the administrative center for Bumthang valley, and also houses the regional monk body.

    Places of Tourist Interests

    Bhutan currently has 4 zones and 20 Districts, with each districts being unique by itself
    and provide our travellers with new experience.

    Learn more about each districts in Bhutan