•    relishtoursbhutan@gmail.com
  •    (+975)-02-321455 / 17744214

    Trongsa Districts

    The road from Wangduephodrang to Trongsa is one of the prettiest in Bhutan passing through streams, forests and villages before climbing the Pelela Pass on the Black Mountain ranges in to the Trongsa valley. This town, perched on steep slopes above a river gorge, forms the central hub of the nation and is the place from where attempts at unifying the country were launched. The landscape around Trongsa is spectacular and its impressive Dzong, stretched along a ridge above a ravine, first comes into view about an hour before the winding, mountain road leads you into the town itself.

    *Trongsa Dzong:* Built in 1648, it was the seat of power over central and eastern Bhutan. Both the first and second Kings of Bhutan ruled the country from this ancient seat. All four Kings were invested as Trongsa Penlop (Governor) prior to ascending the Golden Throne. Trongsa Dzong is one of the most impressive Dzongs in the country. Unlike other Dzong structures, it has many levels, sloping down the contours of the ridge on which it is built. Because of the Dong's highly strategic position, on the only connecting route between east and west, the Trongsa Penlop was able to effectively control the whole of the central and western regions of the country from here. Trongsa is also the Birth place of the 3rd King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck.

    *Ta-Dzong:* This Watch Tower, which once guarded Trongsa Dzong from internal rebellion, stands on a steep slope above the town. Climb up the path to visit Ta Dzong, which now houses a shrine dedicated to the epic hero, King Gesar of Ling. A visit to this former Watch Tower provides visitors with an insight into the significance of Trongsa in Bhutan's history.

    Places of Tourist Interests

    Bhutan currently has 4 zones and 20 Districts, with each districts being unique by itself
    and provide our travellers with new experience.

    Learn more about each districts in Bhutan